Join me Tomorrow: When/How to Use Humor

July 22nd is Spoonerisms Day and July 24th is Tell an Old Joke Day. In celebration, let's talk about humor.  What's funny and what's not? How can we use humor without abusing others? Where d0 we draw the line? Have you ever made light of something only to find the other party didn't think it was funny?  Ever have someone make a joke at your expense?  Have you ever felt someone didn't take you seriously after injecting a little humor into your communication?  Well, tomorrow, I'm going to share some do's and don'ts and tips about humor. Join me for a half hour of fun as I help you navigate your way through the Funny Zone to discover what's funny and what's not. When: Thursday, July 14th. 8am PST/9am MST/ 10am CST/ 11am EST How: Talkshoe:  or via Phone: (724) 444-7444 Call ID: 19736 X If you liked this post, make sure to subscribe to our RSS Feed so you don’t miss one and SUBSCRIBE to our newsletter: for even MORE communication fun, FREE gifts, Book of the Month Club and exclusive excerpts and offers we don’t share with ANYONE else but our subscribers! X


  • Cindy Holman

    Yes, yes and YES! My snarky sense of humor gets me into trouble ALL THE TIME! I try to hold it in – but honestly it’s so hard sometimes ;) Not everyone’s brand of humor is the same – but sometimes people are wound a little tight too. If you can’t laugh at yourself then there is a problem. Most of the world’s problems would be solved if people could just laugh at themselves and not take themselves so seriously.

  • jojosblog

    God is the only perfect communicator so we all stick our foot in our mouth at times. The thing is to understand certain concepts in order to help us reduce this and become more effective when we communicate. Using humor is tricky, but over the years, I have learned some things that help greatly increase our effectiveness. I’ll share them tomorrow.

  • Carla

    You and I both use humor extensively in our communication. Have I ever used it inappropriately? I wish I could say NO, but my nose would be growing at an exponential rate! I have not only opened my big mouth and inserted my foot, but have bitten off my big toe. . . more than once. I try my best not to offend anyone, but it’s very difficult these days. Folks are so thin-skinned. Hey, if you can’t laugh at yourself, my not so humble opinion says you’ve got a real problem and your life is gonna be more difficult than it needs to be. Loosen up, people! At least some of it is supposed to be fun. :)

  • jojosblog

    Very true, Cindy!

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published